

jairangam



16 DEC | 12:00 PM | KRISHNAYAN, JKK | HINDI | 90 Mins

LETTERS TO THE UNBORN CHILDREN OF FATIMA JAHAN

Written and directed by Gaurav Das & Nayan Sadhak

Synopsis:

"Letters to the unborn children of Fatima Jahan" is a story that deals with the tumultuous emotional journey of a young adolescent girl from a small village of Ludhiana Punjab. Fatima in her teens gets infatuated with an unknown man called Akram and begins an illicit affair with him which ends in her getting pregnant out of wedlock. Wary of the consequences that might result if her parents found out about her pregnancy, Fatima elopes with Akram to Mumbai where she ends up getting sold by Akram to a brothel run by Julmi Bai. In the brothel, she undergoes her first miscarriage and writes her first letter to her unborn child she had desired and craved for. As days pass by, Fatima blossoms into a famous bar dancer named Husn-e-Shabnam and becomes the love interest of underworld Don Feroze Khan. Once again Fatima gets pregnant with Feroze's child who promises to marry her but instead gets killed in a police encounter in Dubai. Fatima while running from a police encounter loses her second child



through miscarriage and pens a letter to her unborn child once again. Fatima tries to commit suicide but is saved by river Ganga who carries her to the shores of Nadia where she meets Harimadhav, her third lover. As Fatima slowly falls for the innocent and loving Harimadhav and gradually transforms herself into HariMadhav's devoted wife, she becomes the spite of the villagers specially the village pandit Maharaj who could not tolerate her relationship with HariMadhav. As HariMadhav gets elated by the news of Fatima's pregnancy, HariMadhav is burnt alive by Maharaj and his men while he was performing in one of his concerts. The distress caused by this news leads to her third miscarriage and she ends up losing her third child. The play ends with Fatima writing her last letter to her third unborn child.

Cast & Credits:

Cast: Nayan Sadhak, Samar Mridha, Biplab Naskar, Priyabrata Chowdhury, Ranjita Roy, Rahul Sardar, Tridip Saha, Gaurav Das, Adrish Kumar Roy, Bandan Misra



